Well Done

There isn’t much I am more afraid of than living a life of irrelevance. Of any other fear, this surpasses them all.  To come to the end of my life and have it amount to paying my bills and taking care of myself… what a nightmare.

Yesterday my father’s death, along with the death of 12 other members of his church, shook me in a way I have never been shaken before.  I love my mom, but I was always a daddy’s girl.

I remember 5am coffee and coco (he had coffee; I had coco). We were both early risers and would enjoy that special time before my siblings and mom would wake up. I’d be rubbing sleep out of my eyes but dad had already been up praying and reading his bible.

My hair isn’t quite long enough or else it would be in pigtails today.  Dad loved my hair in pigtail braids. And I loved my daddy so I wore pigtails… through high school. It didn’t matter how big I was, I remained daddy’s little girl.

Church was a huge part of our family; I was born on a Wednesday and sitting on daddy’s lap in choir that Sunday. My parents didn’t attend church… they were the church. My parents have served in every role that a church has, from music minister to secretary. Dad loved people and cared that everyone know about him.

But my dad was in his prime with pre-teens. Maybe it’s because my mom always said he was “10 going on 2” and often behaved with the maturity of his kids.  But really my dad just knew how to have a good time and knew how to be serious when the need arose. The kids loved and respected him and he has impacted innumerable lives.

My father wasn’t a teacher who collected a paycheck.  He loved his students with everything in him (and was often accused of acting their age). Thousands of students sat under him in the private schools and public schools he taught over the years. These students and their parents have shared so many heartfelt stories of how dad impacted their lives.

Painful as the grieving process is, reading through the comments and memories shared by so many people who have been impacted by my father has been a source of strength.

As I said last night, my heart aches at the thought that he will never see me in a wedding dress or hold my firstborn. But I know with full confidence that my father ran his race and completed his mission.  The ripple effect of his life will be felt for generations.

16 thoughts on “Well Done

  1. Thank you so much for sharing. As a fellow Christian, my heart aches for your congregation…BUT… having been to Alto Frio and knowing that they spent the last days on earth praising the Lord and fellowshiping with other believers, I hope that you can find some peace in that. He, as well as the others, have fulfilled their earthly duties and been called HOME to GLORY! Praying for you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marilyn kolacek

    Your beautiful words about your dad are so thoughtful and loving. We all taught with your dad for many years and our hearts are broken for you and your family. Y’all are in our thoughts and prayers.
    Marilyn, Fadra, Carol, Patty, Betty, Jane, Brenda, Demetria, Georgia, Pete

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great tribute!!! My condolences to your family! I worked with your dad for many years in the transportation department at Schlitterbahn and am also a teacher/ coach at Canyon High School where he would sub some. He indeed was a big kid who loved to have fun and kept life in perspective. He was a faithful person and put his service to the lord, family, church family, and community in the proper places of importance. He will be missed!!!

    Like

  4. Anonymous

    I’ve never met you or your family. I stumbled across your blog while reading about the tragedy in the news. Your words take me back to when I lost my father (also suddenly). I too had the same thoughts of not having him at my wedding, not meeting his grand babies. You’re stories of your dad also make sad I never knew him. He sounds like the kind of guy who brought lots of light and love and laughter to the world. I hope you find comfort in all of the love pouring in from your friends, family, and strangers.

    Like

  5. kathy Villarose

    What lovely sentiments. My daughter & I knew your dad back when she was in 7th & 8th grade (she’s a sophomore at TX State now). Your dad was the Leo sponsor at Oak Run. He encouraged my daughter to be Historian & we went with him to the state convention in Austin. It was a great experience for the kids. He also got us involved in our first Relay for life being on his team. We’ve done it for many years thanks to his inspiration. Please accept our sincerest condolences on your loss. He was a wonderful role model to the kids he mentored.

    Kathy & Ann-Marie Villarose

    Like

  6. Pingback: Names Released: New Braunfels First Baptist Church Members Remembered | The Pink Armadillo

  7. Ami Feller

    I loved your dad – what a great man. I met him over the kitchen table, selling him a roof (I was successful). We found we had AWANA in common….. he was full of love and joy and compassion. What a great guy to have for a dad. Hugs and prayers, girl.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Family and Friends Remember Lives and Faith of 13 Victims in Texas Church Bus Crash | BCNN1 – Black Christian News Network

  9. Pingback: Family and Friends Remember Lives and Faith of 13 Victims in Texas Church Bus Crash – BCNN1 WP

  10. Kelly

    Your father was a beautiful man and this blog was wonderfully written in memorial to him. What a lucky girl to have had such a good dad in your life! I’m just another Christian in America lifting up a prayer for your Church Family.

    I’m so terribly sorry for your loss. I am however grateful that all of these wonderful people are in heaven and that I’ll get to meet them one day.

    In sympathy,
    Kelly from Pennsylvania

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Blessed Are Those Who Mourn – Imperfect Progress

  12. Pingback: It Takes a Village – Imperfect Progress

  13. Pingback: Confused but Confident – Imperfect Progress

  14. Pingback: Not-So Good Friday – Imperfect Progress

Thoughts?

